Home Biological science Rowan University and Community College of Philadelphia Announce Partnership Expanding Access to 4-Year Degrees

Rowan University and Community College of Philadelphia Announce Partnership Expanding Access to 4-Year Degrees


A new program-to-program transfer partnership for eligible Community College of Philadelphia graduates is now available through an agreement between Rowan University and Community College of Philadelphia.

To qualify, students must earn an associate’s degree in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, or other approved majors, and be admitted to Rowan’s corresponding majors.

Rowan’s president, Dr. Ali Houshmand, noted that the partnership extends a history of support for students transitioning from area community colleges to the Glassboro-based university.

Ali Houshman. (File photo)

“Community College of Philadelphia has very high standards, so we know their students will do well at Rowan,” Houshmand said. “We’ve created a variety of pathways for community college graduates to go on and earn an affordable four-year degree.”

Graduates of these specific associate degree programs transfer with advanced standing into a specific bachelor’s degree program at the transferring college. Participating study programs in the partnership with Rowan University include Biology and Biological Sciences, Black Studies, Chemistry, Computer Science, Construction Management, Mathematics and Sound Recording and Music Technology.

“The College is delighted to partner with Rowan University to ensure that our graduates can complete their undergraduate degree in a seamless and affordable way,” said President Dr. Donald “Guy” Generals. “Not only is Rowan a nationally ranked public research institution, it has an excellent reputation for preparing students for the job market. The latter is more important than ever.

Eligible students will receive scholarships to reduce their tuition to state rates. Many graduates are active in the Greater Philadelphia Regional Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation, a national organization that encourages students from underrepresented groups to pursue studies in STEM fields. Launched in 1994, the Greater Philadelphia Regional LSAMP includes Cheyney, Lincoln, and Delaware State Universities, which represent historically black colleges and universities, as well as Community College of Philadelphia, Rowan University, University of Delaware, Drexel University, University of Pennsylvania and Temple University. .

Eligible students will also be able to access Rowan’s LSAMP and STEM programs while attending the College, and be considered for entry into Rowan’s Research Experiences programs for undergraduates.